The Blog Continues: Just in a different (and cooler) way

I became interested in journalism thanks to experiences I had in high school.  Teachers and community members in Alamo noticed I had a knack for writing and provided opportunities for me to put it to practical use.  I first wrote for Alamo’s local monthly, reporting on high school events.  Later, my English teacher arranged for me to write opinion pieces for NevadaPrep.

Those opportunities allowed me to develop my writing and journalistic skills early on and in a real-life environment.  Furthermore, I had a blast sharing my work and my thoughts with my community and the state.  It was fantastic receiving feedback and having my work initiate conversation.

Last year I rejoined NevadaPrep and started this blog.  It was wonderful to travel around and discuss the “sights and sounds” of high school sports, though I felt I was doing too much of the talking.  Nevertheless, the positive feedback I received motivated me to keep it going, just in a different way.

In cooperation with NevadaPrep, I’ve built The Nevada High School Report (The Report).

The Report attempts to do for today’s students what Alamo and NevadaPrep did for me.  It provides a community where high schoolers can share their work to a real-life audience.  They can register with the site (which is simple and free) and post text, images, audio and video about their schools.  Students can report on athletic and academic events, profile unique individuals, and give their opinions on issues important them.

Students can be unique.  Someone who likes radio could create a weekly podcast.  A student who likes cinematography could put together a short film.  An artist could create a cartoon satirizing current events.  An aspiring sports reporter could give the lowdown on last weekend’s games.  Students can work alone, with groups, and even with students from other schools.  And all students, parents and teachers are free to comment on published work.

Put simply, The Report wants to help students hone their journalistic and artistic skills, put their talents on display and, in the process, bring Nevada’s communities together.

I want this site to be an asset to the educational community.  Advertising/sponsorships will fund operations.  Revenue not used for operational expenses will go to a scholarship fund.  At the end of each school year, scholarships and grants will be given to participating students and schools.  My long-term goal is to have well over half (preferably 70 to 80 percent) of revenue going to the scholarship fund.

You students who want to put your talents to practical use, join The Report!  And I hope educators will see the value in this and encourage their students to participate.  It is an environment where students can build on their skills, know what it’s like to have an audience, and start some good conversations throughout Nevada.

I’m living proof that such an environment will work to their benefit.

Leave a comment

Filed under high school

Leave a comment